New Years Musings

Right now… I am starting to write this post against my better judgment.  It is 3:30 on Monday – the boys are happily painting and the baby girl is happily napping.  How long this peace will continue is anyone’s guess but I suppose it is now or never.  At least if I start I’m more likely to finish, right?  And there we have it, a hush fell over the dining room where there are artists at work and I looked up to see a huge glob of paint on the floor.  The final straw is the yellow paint across Littler’s forehead and into his hair. Time to clean up.

This weekend… was ok.  It kinda started on Christmas morning when the WeatherMan got off work.  Yes indeed, he had to work Christmas Eve night which left me home to put the Whos to bed and do all the elving.  Thankfully I had the help of a couple of elves imported from New York so we managed to get everything done and even get some sleep.  (Thanks Bapa and Fava!)  We mostly just hung out the rest of the super long weekend.  The boys played in the snow we started getting on Boxing Day.  We set up the new big boy beds and the storage cubes.  We ate.  A lot.  We played the games the boys got for Christmas and read books.

Some plans for the week… more of the same.  Lots of reading, some knitting (I hope), painting, baking, grocery shopping, a trip to the library, playing games with the boys, setting our new goals for the New Year, a fair amount of cleaning, organizing, and decluttering.  We celebrated our 7th anniversary yesterday (the 31st)- super exciting with McDonald’s, tv, and a game of Divinity (because we are super nerds.)  Oh, and homemade waffles!  With berries on top and so, so yummy.  I see many more waffles in our future (and in fact that’s what I had for dinner tonight.)

I’m grateful for… naps, quiet moments, vegan chocolate, ebooks, paper books, pencils, waffles, hot tea, the waffle maker.

Some prayer intentions… for a healthy, happy New Year and to move home to the States.  For a friend and her twins who were born on Christmas Day – 6 1/2 weeks early and weighing 5lbs 4oz and 2lbs 10oz.

Something that makes me smile…

IMG_9184[1]

Oh, the plans for these lovely goodies.  I can’t wait until I can have dairy – they just cry for a little whipped cream on top.  Maybe make them with applesauce and cinnamon.  Pumpkin spice.  Peaches on top.  A la mode.  We’re thinking of making it a family tradition for New Year’s Eve waffle bar party.  Who’s in?  🙂

 

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in Monday musings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Years Musings

  1. Joanne says:

    Happy anniversary…can’t believe it’s been 7 years already!

  2. Sarah says:

    Happy Anniversary! I hope you have a wonderful 2013 and we will see you very soon!

  3. karen says:

    Happy anniversary and I hope you move home too 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

