Yarn Along

Joining Ginny again this week.  Although I’m starting to feel a bit silly posting the same thing week after week.  I still haven’t had the time to bind off the shawl I’m working on.  I did start casting on my next project though.  And yes, I really only started – I can’t even get the free time to cast on 200 stitches and yes I am feeling a little resentful about it.

But I am working really, really hard at focusing on all the good rather than the less than stellar.  So I can tell you that I am very excited to be starting something new and not just because I have been working on the same project since August.  A fresh start is always such a good feeling.  And the color of the yarn is so refreshing.  But I can’t tell much because I’m still in secret knitting mode and I know for a fact that who this is for reads here 🙂  I’m also really hopeful that I’ll finally get the time to learn this bind off and start getting the shawl off needles because that too is a wonderful feeling.

I have been able to read quite a bit this week.  I finished Knit Together and The Invention of Hugo Cabret and really enjoyed both.  Now I’m on to The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey and back to You Are Your Child’s First Teacher.  And The No-Cry Sleep Solution because something HAS to be done.  I also have two library books on my nook – Last Child in the Woods by Richard Louv and Fifteen Minutes Outside by Rebecca P. Cohen,  And I have holds on 2 more ebooks waiting for me too.  Remember I said a couple of weeks ago that I went a little crazy with the ebooks?  Yup.  I think I might have it timed out to finish them all before they’re due back (and No-Cry is mine to keep – I have been to the sleepless rodeo before and didn’t care for it those times either.)

So my plan for today is to check out what else is going on the blogosphere.  But try not to take notes of any books or projects to add to my lists 😉  And go to playgroup with the kidlets.  And read lots.  And finish casting on.  And maybe kick everyone out of the house so I can start that bind off.  Hey, you never know – you gotta dream big to win big, right?  Happy Yarn Along!

IMG_9387[1]

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I never tire of hearing your progress, some projects are very long term. I have quite a few myself. Isn’t it fun to start a new project when you have a massive one haunting you to finish?? I like it! Have fun at playgroup 🙂

  2. Carly says:

    Good luck with not adding any more projects…an ever present goal of mine 🙂 The NCSS is pretty good, lots of good tips. hope it helps you all have calmer nights. Lovely colour of yarn you have there x

  3. Alisa says:

    oh casting on for a new project is always exciting! Good for you focusing on all the positives…..if we did not do that as mommys life could get really depressing!! Hoping you get some time to knit later!!!

  4. heathermama says:

    well the new project is in a lovely shade of blue. 🙂 you may not be getting a lot of knitting done, but you are reading up a storm! i keep hearing about the snow child… sounds interesting.

  5. I hope that you find a few moments of peace (did you see what I did there? 😉 ) to do the things you want to do.

    I watched the movie Hugo over the weekend and I cannot wait to read the book someday.

  6. Eileen says:

    good luck with your day, hope it all works out as planned. i am looking forward to reading the snow child.

  7. Such great books on your reading list…read quite a few of them. The Snow Child keeps popping up on yarn along, I have added it to my list and hope to read it soon. Hope your day went well.

  8. KC says:

    I just met a woman yesterday that had been working on a russian shawl for 12 years! She was working on it at the time I talked to her.

  9. Love the blue! Can’t wait to see what it becomes!

I'd love to hear from you!

