Yarn Along

Happy Yarn Along!  If today isn’t the perfect day for reading and knitting, if only my kids would let me.  Dang, it is really bloody cold!  It was actually down below 70* in our apartment (typically it hovers around 78* – with the windows open.)

IMG_9450[1]

It has been really nice to knit a stitch here and a row there where I can.  The eternal shawl is still on needles and maybe when it’s a little closer to a reasonable temperature (so children can go outside) I’ll get to sit down with it and YouTube and get going on that bind off.  In the meantime I’m loving my new knit.  For one because the pattern is perfect – just enough going on to keep from being dull but simple enough to be able to just relax and knit.  I also love it on account of the yarn – Knit Picks Gloss, 70% merino/30% silk.  It feels so soft and squishy.

I’ve also done a bit of reading.  I finished The Snow Child.  I love new looks at old tales and this is definitely a grown up version of the fairy tale.  Today I’m hoping to finish 15 Minutes Outside and really get into Last Child in the Woods (they’re the next due back to the library.)  15 Minutes has lots of good ideas all organized by month/ season which is helpful for those of us who have trouble getting motivated to get outside (although NOT THIS WEEK!)  Once this cold has moved on I hope to take up the challenge of getting out doors for at least 15 minutes every day.

Happy Wednesday!  Stay warm and knit on 🙂

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Hmmmmm….wool and silk. Sounds sinful. 🙂

  2. karen says:

    loved the snow child immensely!! I think it’s great you are at the bind off, easy peasy, just get all three kids to nap at the same time 😀

  3. Kristen says:

    Thanks for the Snow Child endorsement…thinking I’ll have to track it down soon 🙂

  4. The Snow Child is on my list, so many great recommendations around the blog world. Silk and wool, how lovely to knit with.

I'd love to hear from you!

