Yarn Along

Well, another week and I still haven’t managed to cast off the shawl or do the finishes on the project I finished last week.  With Christmas behind me I just don’t seem to have any motivation to finish.  That and I’m just an enormous procrastinator.  And I have a new source of procrastination – I won the giveaway at Mothering with Mindfulness for 8 patterns from Mamma4earth!  They are the cutest ever and I can’t decide what to knit first (although some are out for things like lacking gray yarn for the squirrel and hippo.)  So instead I’ve cast on some hearts.  At first I thought I’d make them for Littler’s class (because I am a crazy, delusional mama.)  But I might just make a bunch and make a garland for myself.  I have to see if I can talk someone into running to the store today for some red and maybe white yarn…

As for reading, I finally finished You Are Your Child’s First Teacher.  Interesting read.  I like a lot of the practice ideas and such.  But some of it is just a little over the top for me.  Thankfully I’m pretty good at “take what you can use and leave the rest” 🙂  I’ve also picked up Sherlock Holmes again, trying to finish the first volume of the collection I’ve been reading.  Has anyone else been loving the new show?  Sunday’s episode was rather disturbing but I really look forward to watching it every week.  As for next books I think I’ll try to finish Last Child In the Woods again and I was lent another novel based on Little Women that I am really looking forward to reading.

IMG_9566[1]

Off to link up with Ginny and try not to find too much else to add to my list 😉

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    congrats on being the winner! I hope you get more time this week to devote to your lovely shawl. Fingers crossed!!

  2. Agreeing with Karen…hope you find time to work on that shawl! I, too, am working on a shawl (as I see lots of others are as well…must be the season!). Happy knitting. 🙂

  3. Congrats on winning!

    I downloaded The Complete Sherlock Holmes Collection for the Kindle and will start it at some point. HECK YEAH! I love Elementary! Jonny Lee Miller makes a perfect Holmes and I love Lucy Liu as Watson. I missed Sunday’s episode, so I’ll have to see if I can find it online.

  4. I really enjoyed reading Last Child in the Woods. It is very well written and the information in it is very eye opening. I hope you enjoy it!

  5. Sarah says:

    Is it the Sherlock Holmes on PBS? I watched the first two seasons and can’t wait for the 3rd one!

    • *kate says:

      No, the new one on CBS – Elementary. I haven’t been able to see the PBS one yet but if we get NetFlix again it’s on my list to look for.

  6. Yay for those patterns, can’t wait to see some of them knit up. Hoping you get some time to work on your shawl soon.

  7. maria says:

    I bought the wolf pattern a while ago, but haven’t had time to try it yet.
    I think a heart garland will look really great 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

