Yarn Along

Image

So you may remember last week when I put off unknitting what I was working on?  Well, I did the same thing again.  At least this time I didn’t put off fixing it quite as long.  Maybe I’ll manage to get through the third pattern repeat without goofing it up.  Other than that I really like the pattern – it’s called Growing Leaves Cowl and it’s here on ravelry.    I’m hopeful it will turn out big enough since I didn’t do the increases for using worsted rather than bulky yarn but I think it will be ok.  I don’t want it to come out too loose anyway, I think that would ruin the effect of the leaves.

IMG_9769[1] IMG_9760[1]

I’ve been busy blocking this week too.  I’m not sure I’m happy with the shaping of the mystery project on the right.  The sides aren’t symmetrical and I’m not sure that’s cool.  Don’t get me wrong, it is cool and it’s even (will fold in half) but I just don’t know.  Plus it came out smaller than I thought.  I dread reblocking it though – any guesses why?  (Those eleventy-bajillion pins were really a pain.)  I’ll inspect it in the light of day and see what I think then.  Hopefully they will be off in the mail this week, with any luck the cowl for Mom too.

As for reading, I got myself into trouble this week at the library.  As if that’s never happened before.  First of all, I finished The Lost Summer of Louisa May Alcott.  I really enjoyed it – I LOVE historical fiction and this borders almost on Little Women fan fiction (does such a thing exist?)  So after that I started Elizabeth and Her German Garden on my nook.  It was mentioned in an episode of Downton Abbey I saw recently and I saw it as a Kindle freebie and figured it was available for nook too.  Then we went to Niagara Falls last week to get my nook on the wifi to update  to run errands so I had 29 new books to choose from.

And then on Tuesday I downloaded The Wedding Quilt by Jennifer Chiaverini.  Then we went to the library for story time and while the boys were listening to books and singing songs I did something dangerous and wandered a bit.  (In my defence it would have been dangerous to sit still thanks to a baby who doesn’t care for sitting in a still stroller.)  Well, in my wanders I came across Kisses From Katie by Katie Davis.  I’ve come across mentions of her book and links to her blog before but never really checked it out so I thought now would be a good time.  And then a little further down on the “new” shelves I found Marmee and Louisa: The Untold Story of Louisa May Alcott and Her Mother by Eve LaPlante.  It seemed fitting since I had just finished The Lost Summer so I added it to the pile too.  I think next I’ll be adding some of Alcott’s other books to my reading – it’s been forever since I read Little Women and I haven’t read much of her other works.

And now I’m off to link up with Ginny… and read… and knit… and keep the baby out of the matchbox cars and legos (which her brothers have not yet learned will be taken away if left on the floor)… and get ready for playgroup… but who am I fooling, mostly checking out what’s out there in the blogosphere and adding to my lists 😉
Happy Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    love the hefty list of reading you are sharing with us! Maybe it’s blocking that way because the pattern is that way? Looks lovely from over here. I’d leave it as is. The cowl pattern is beautiful and would make a fun project!!

  2. Tracey says:

    I love your cowl, it’s beautiful!
    Wow, that is a lot of books to read. I have Kisses from Kate on my list, but am trying to read what I have before I order more…I must be strong!

  3. I got Elizabeth and Her German Garden for my mom about 7 years ago, but I never read it.
    Is it enjoyable? I loved An Enchanted April, I should give that a try.

  4. Heather says:

    That cowl is gorgeous! I think I need one for next winter! I love historical fiction too, it is so fun to read about the culture way back when 🙂

  5. Your cowl is gorgeous! The wave shape of your other work looks pretty and interesting, I agree with Karen who says: I’d leave it as is.

  6. Amy Caroline says:

    Oh that cowl is lovely and I think the shawl looks fabulous!

  7. Oh, Kate. There’s fanfiction for every kind of book/movie out there! 😉

  8. heathermama says:

    that shawl is lovely, hopefully you won’t have to reblock it.

  9. Sarah says:

    “Kisses from Katie” is an awesome book! It is actually my book club pick for the month of April at our church. God bless!

  10. I love it when I “get in trouble” at the library! Happy reading!

  11. Alisa says:

    beautiful projects!

  12. Tina says:

    Lovely projects and your cowl is beautiful!

  13. Carolyn says:

    The cowl is gorgeous! I knit a hitchhiker a while back, and my goodness blocking it felt like it took forever! Hope you won’t have to reblock – it looks lovely too!

  14. Anna says:

    I’m off to Ravelry to mark the leaves cowl, for some reason I have leaf patterning on the brain! All of your book selections sound heavenly. I love Katie’s blog and have wanted to read her book forever. I also loved little women and little men immensely and just caught the Downton Abbey bug- watched all three seasons in between homeschooling and mothering/ wifely tasks. I have an IPAd but haven’t learned how to use it as a reader and Im not sure where to find books that are good and free to boot! Visiting from Yarn along.

  15. Love the cowl. And getting in trouble at the library is the best kind of trouble. Enjoy your reading.

I'd love to hear from you!

