Yarn Along

Ok, so I had fabulous intentions of finishing my mom’s cowl a couple times this week.  The first would have been in time to get up at 4:30 the following morning to run errands in the States (we had to be somewhere BY 7am so we had to leave so we would hit the border around 6 since it was the first unofficial day of March break, ya know the last day of school before break officially starts so the day people leave to avoid the traffic as well as the usual commuter traffic.)  Well, around 9:30 Thursday night I had 7 rows to go but was so exhausted that to attempt to finish it was foolish – I would only make dumb mistakes that would really upset me.  So last night I was going to finish it, I only had 5 rounds left it should have been no problem.  But then a sweet Baby Girl was woken by her rambunctious brothers and screamed bloody murder.  I think she’s working on another new tooth.  Well, she ended up falling asleep on my chest and what was a mama to do?  Enjoy some snuggles of course!  The only thing that would have made it better would have been better snacks and a new episode of NCIS but I suppose we can’t win ’em all.

But I do have something to share.  I heard this morning that one of my secret projects was received, just in time for some colder weather and I can finally share it here 🙂  It’s the Sweet Memories Cowl by the lovely Jacinta.  It was a great knit – simple enough to get on with without worrying (too much) about messing up and yet enough going on to keep it interesting.  I will definitely be knitting this again.

IMG_9587[1]

As for reading, I’m enjoying Elizabeth and her German Garden and Marmee and Louisa.  But I think my favorite book of the week is The Great Sheep Shenanigans by Peter Bently and Mei Matsuka.  It’s the hilarious story of a wolf trying to catch a lamb for his supper and how his efforts are thwarted.  We love our sheepy stories and I’m a sucker for big words in children’s books so it’s a perfect fit for us.  The boys have also been really enjoying All About Alfie by Shirley Hughes and Snipp, Snapp, Snurr and the Gingerbread by Maj Lindman.  And may I just say, yet again, how much I LOVE our library.

IMG_9876[1]

Linking up with Ginny and hoping you all have a wonderful Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    The cowl is gorgeous!! Love the color, I also love the green project on the needles, maybe this week you will finish??

  2. SJL says:

    Once again, I absolutely LOVE it! Thanks for thinking of me! -S

  3. Beautiful work! Thanks for the pattern link to the cowl. 🙂

  4. heathermama says:

    that cowl is beautiful! and the sheep book sounds fab! you do have a great library.

  5. The cowl is beautiful, Kate. Great job.

    I would take baby cuddles over knitting, too. 😉

  6. The colour of the cowl is great!

  7. Oh Kate, I love your Sweet Memories cowl. I am so excited seeing people knitting my pattern up. Makes my heart sing! Baby snuggles are hard to beat. Jacinta x

  8. That’s a sweet little shawl! Lovely blue!

  9. You do great work. Maybe someday I’ll learn to knit?

I'd love to hear from you!

