Yarn Along

Oh, lovely Yarn Along!  Not much to show for today but believe me I’m making progress.  Trouble with lovely patterns that start with “cast on 3” is that they increase exponentially from there.  I’m getting into the slow going part but have only one more increase section and the edging left.  Still planning on finishing in time to give it next weekend because planning just feels more sure than “hoping.”  (“Hoping” I could still give up on but I’m planning on finishing.  Doesn’t that sound better?)  We’ll see how I’m feeling about that next Wednesday.  The 500-something stitches on the needles by then might just kick my butt before I can bind them off.  My only complaint (other than the number of stitches) is the clear acrylic needles.  Sometimes it makes counting a pain, seeing the backside of the stitches through the needle.  But I think I’ve got that worked out now and maybe knitting in the near darkness of our living room after the Whos are asnooze helps because I can only see well enough to see the fronts 😉

Image

I haven’t had much time for reading since I’m spending all the time I can on my knitting but I’m still enjoying Marmee and Louisa.  So for a little variety I’ll share my Easter book.  It has been an Easter tradition from the time I was wee to get a book in our baskets.  Usually something classic (does Harry Potter count as classic yet?  I got one one year, when I was big enough not to “need” an Easter basket but allowed to request my book.)  Anyway, this year my book was The Complete World of Jane Austen by Lauren Nixon.  It has all kinds of background on Austen and her novels.  I’m looking forward to reading it.  Plus, it has pictures!  And I just noticed my picture is upside down…  I meant to do that, keeps things interesting and my knitting more of a mystery  😉

Today is the last day to enter the Hobbit giveaway Happy Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I would think clear needles would make it difficult. I love 500 stitches on a needle but you do have to commit to the project don’t you? Lovely yarn!!

  2. alisa says:

    my daughter loves Jane Austen, I will have to get that book for her! Good luck on your knitting!

  3. Kathy says:

    I never thought about the clear needles making it difficult to count the stitches, but that does make sense. 500 stitches, oh my! The yarn is beautiful, can’t wait to see it finished!

  4. katharine says:

    isn’t it amazing how the psycological effect of ‘cast on three’ is great at first but comes back to haunt you? Perhaps I’ll remember that next time I read cast on 500+. It might make for challenging days ahead but at least it will all end with a nice, quick k3tog.

  5. Erica S. says:

    The book sounds great!

  6. Jean Fleck says:

    Love the color of the yarn…but having a hard time seeing the pattern. I hope that you are using circular needles with the 500 stitches!

  7. I’ve had the same problem with the one pair of the clear needles that I own. It’s probably why I don’t use them a lot.

    That Jane Austen book looks like it’s up my alley, too.

  8. Amy Clark says:

    The color of the yarn is lovely. I always love the idea of cast on 3 but you have a point about the exponentially increasing stitches. 500 stitches at the end will be a pain.

I'd love to hear from you!

