Yarn Along

ImageI was So gonna finish knitting last night.  It was totally do-able.  I had 3 rows left, then I would bind off tonight and block it and be good to go.  Then we of course had the most ridiculous bedtime melt down that you have ever seen.  Littler sat in my lap and got to the point where he was literally screaming “waa waa waa” in my face.  And he had the worse breath on top of it.  So my knitting plans were seriously derailed.  But I think I might just be able to finish the whole thing today and still block it tonight.  Yippy!

Reading has been slow since I’m trying to finish up the knitting but I did finish Marmee and Louisa and start a new book.  It was really interesting – everyone knows Little Women is semi-autobiographical and seeing what was her inspiration was fascinating.  Not to mention just knowing a little more about what life was like during their lives.  The timing of finishing worked out well because I had a hold come though at the library and since it’s a popular book the loan is only for 2 weeks.  So I’m now reading Lady Almina and the Real Downton Abbey by The Countess of Carnarvon.  So much for swearing off nonfiction for a while!  But seeing what people were like and how they lived is so interesting.  And for fiction I’m reading Happy Times in Noisy Village  by Astrid Lindgren to the boys.  They’re really enjoying it.  It’s just silly enough to be interesting without being too much.  (We tried Pippi Longstocking earlier and I think it was just too unbelievable for them, none of us could get into it.  Maybe we’ll try again when they’re a little older.)  It’s always great when they bring out a book you’re reading with them and they beg for a chapter.  Great unless you’re in the middle of making dinner or a diaper change or some such dull but important task of course.

Now to link with Ginny and get that knitting done!  And next week I can do a big reveal, Lord willing and the creek don’t rise.  Or should I say and nobody barfs.
Happy Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    Don’t you wish you could have meltdowns like that without being judged? I feel like that too when I’m over tired and my much loved schedule has gone awry. Good luck finishing today!!

  2. meghann says:

    Oh my goodness – those meltdowns! Neither of mine yell “wah!” but they both do this thing where they’re not really crying, just yelling, and then they work themselves up to a place where they’re sobbing uncontrollably. (And yes. It’s totally worse when they have dragon breath. Ugh.)

    I love the color of your knitting, and I’ll have to go back & read previous weeks to see what it is that you’re knitting. 🙂 (I’ve fallen a bit behind in my blog reading these last few weeks. I’m not sure what’s going on but it’s like my days have had 5 hours taken out of them. It’s ridiculous.) And I need to check out ‘Marmee and Louisa’ because ‘Little Women’ is one of my favorite books of all time & I think I would enjoy that.

    Hope today is meltdown-free…or at least free enough that you’re able to finish! xo

  3. woolythyme says:

    nothing like a good meltdown to cleanse the soul!!!

  4. Mary says:

    I read Lady Almina a few months ago- definitely interesting to read!

  5. Hope you found time to get the knitting done. Always tough when are plans for knitting are derailed.

I'd love to hear from you!

