Yarn Along

Well, I cast on my February Lady again.  I want to love her but I just don’t know.  Maybe I’m putting too much thought into it and making it harder than it really is.  And I really don’t want to be scared off just because something is shaped and grownup sized.

Meanwhile, have I ever told you that I have no restraint?  Not when it comes to chocolate, soda, or books.  At the time of this writing I have 6 books going.  Every time (which is at least a couple times a week) I’m in the library I find another couple to read.  Plus the huge pile of ebooks that I’ve collected on my nook.  It’s a little crazy.   But I love reading and there is so much out there to read (and I find it easier to read and referee than to knit.)

Included in my list of reading is The Hobbit which I am finally reading to the boys.  So far the only question I’ve gotten from Bigger is what’s a morsel but we’re still pretty early on.  For me there’s 8 Minutes in the Morning to a Flat Belly in hopes of getting some good ideas to help my poor separated abs.  And my other latest library find, I’d Like to Apologize to Every Teacher I Ever Had by Tony Danza.  It’s about his year teaching in a public school in Philadelphia.  Part of me is thinking “yeah right” as I read it (I’d like to point out that part of me is a realist, not a cynic.)  But then again if more people used the resources available to them we really could make a difference in the world.  Even without famous names and camera crews.  Plus people watching is always fascinating.

IMG_0508[1]

And now off to knit and read and check out what else is shared with Ginny today.
Happy Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I could never read six books at once. I have trouble with two! I admire your multi reading skill. I wonder what it is about the FLS that’s tripping you up. The only place that I had a “duh” moment was the increasing near the end of the yoke. I had to do MATH.

  2. Did that too, reading several books at the same time but I can’t concentrate well enough anymore.
    Love the lilac colour of your yarn, like to see more of your project.
    Thanks for visiting my blog!

  3. I’m scared off by grown up sized garments too – unless they’re scarves or shawls – no “fitting” issues there. Kids’ clothes are so much more forgiving to my pitiful swatching and gauging skills – I always make them huge and wait for the children to grow! Good luck with your FLS, you’re a braver woman than I!

  4. Best wishes on the sweater. I’d also like to apologize to every high school teacher I ever had! Thankfully, I’ve had the opportunity at least twice. 🙂

  5. Kymberly says:

    The sweater I’m working on gave me a ton of trouble. I still can’t figure out why I was so confused, but I spent a month not understanding how to start. Then one day it clicked and I was able to cast on. Good luck with your February Lady.

  6. Erin says:

    Don’t give up! You will be so proud of yourself when you finish it!

  7. Erica S. says:

    Good luck with the sweater. I had it in my queue for a long time, but I was kind of scared of it, so I took it out! Maybe one day…
    Looking forward to seeing how your sweater progresses!

  8. Jennifer says:

    Good luck with your sweater! My daughter and I just finished The Hobbit this winter and she loved it. Things like “second breakfast” have become part of our family vocabulary! :0)

  9. I am so intimidated by grown up garments!! I have yet to knit a sweater for myself but have plowed through many child-sized things… one of these days I will gather the courage to pick yarn and a pattern and make something just for me… well, something besides a shawl or a hat! Good luck on your sweater!

  10. meghann says:

    I’m so glad to see someone else admit a weakness for soda. It’s an awful habit, but if it is around I will drink it. All of it.

    I was also struggling with my February Lady & I’ve actually set it aside for now. Maybe I’ll pick it up again soon; maybe I’ll never get to it. I was struggling to get the gauge right & now I’ve just moved on to other things. I hope you have better luck with it than that! xo

I'd love to hear from you!

