Yarn Along

Here we are, another Yarn Along and only 1 row knit this past week.  I’ll admit it – I’m daunted by the February Lady.  And I haven’t had the time (or brain power) to figure out those button holes.  Hopefully this week.

So instead, I’ve been cutting pieces for a quilt for Bigger.  He’s really psyched.  He doesn’t remember having anything Mama made and now it’s his turn.  The plan is for a super simple scrappy of blues and greens and I’m ready to try laying it out.  Once it’s pieced I’ll put it on the back burner for a little bit and finish up the other quilt I’m working on.  Because I would really like to be able to give it to my friends before their second anniversary (since it was supposed to be a wedding gift and all.)  It’s a good plan anyway.

As for reading, I started Little Women since I’ve been reading so much about Alcott and it’s been so long since I read any of her actual writing.  But then the WeatherMan and Littler brought me a book back from the library – Mrs. Lincoln’s Dressmaker by Jennifer Chiaverini.  At times it’s almost as if she’s trying to hard and it makes it a bit cumbersome.  But I’m enjoying the story.  I just hope I can finish it before it’s due back to the library.

IMG_0587[1]

Happy Wednesday!  Enjoy the Yarn Along 🙂  And tomorrow’s needle&thREAD.

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, needle'n'thREAD, quilts, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Just keep telling yourself that summer is coming & it will be a while before you *really* need another sweater. 🙂 (This is the buttonhole I used on my February Lady: http://knittingonthenet.com/learn/bh5.htm ; it seems more confusing than it actually is. Once you knit it you’ll wonder why you thought it was so complicated.)

    You’re reminding me that I need to get to work on quilts here, too. (Again…I’m just reminding myself that summer is coming, etc. etc. etc….) xo

  2. karen says:

    I want to re read that book. It was life altering when I was a teenager. So inspiring!! Good luck with the knitting this week 🙂

  3. Erin says:

    Thanks for the book review… It’s one I will stay away from for now, though it might be a good winter read for me!

I'd love to hear from you!

