Yarn Along

IMG_0781[1]I will not be intimidated by a sweater!  It may have the ugliest button holes in the universe (2 out of 3 of those little buggers are anyway) but I will concur the adult garment!  That said, I might need to cheat on my February Lady for a little instant gratification knitting.  Maybe a dishcloth or two.  Or a fun summer scarf.  Once I finish at least the yolk, of course.  At least.  My poor little craft-ADD mind is wandering just a bit.  It is not being helped by the posts of lovely cross stitches that I’ve been seeing lately too.  But I’m trying to hold it together to have a sweater for me.  Someday.

Reading is less daunting and this week I finished the Little Women section and am into Good Wives.  I also got a couple from the library (are you at all surprised?)  First up is Below Stairs by Margearet Powell and boy does it make me grateful to live now rather than 100 years ago.  It’s hard to believe that it was so recent that leaving school at 13 to go to work to help support your family was common.  Or to enter “service” because your family could not afford to keep you any longer (at 15!)  But it’s a really interesting memoir by a woman who was a kitchen maid in the 1920’s.  And I may or may not be hearing Daisy’s voice in my head while I read it.  😉

And joining my fellow Yarn Alongers at small things today 🙂 Happy Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I cheat on all of my knitting projects, makes me more productive 🙂 I’m sure the buttonholes will be fine after blocking, if not the button will cover it when you button up.

  2. maria says:

    I will look for below stairs in my library!

  3. Sounds like an interesting read! Thanks for sharing. And I guess I’ll chime in and admit that I cheat, too. 🙂

  4. Tracey says:

    I have six projects on needles right now, knitting which ever one I am in the mood for. I have all the faith that you will complete your sweater and it’s going to be just beautiful! Hey, you knit it! Smile and just enjoy the process .

  5. Heather says:

    The book does sound interesting! It goes right along with my love for Downton Abbey and Upstairs Downstairs 🙂

  6. Donna says:

    Cheating is the name of the game in knitting. I don’t think I have ever finished a project by the book. Yours is going to look wonderful!

  7. Ah, the old ADD craft mind. Definitely a crafter’s curse! And Louisa May Alcott is a favorite ’round here… as is Downton Abbey. 😉

    Blessings, Debbie

  8. Lydia says:

    Oh you must always have some instant gratification knitting on the side! It’s the only way I can make it through bigger projects. That book sounds fascinating, I’m going to try and find it!

  9. Erin says:

    You can do it! Don’t stop now! The book sounds good… I need to look that one up!

  10. I’m sure that you sweater is going to look just fine in the end. The FLS sweater was the first sweater pattern that I made for myself and I remember the buttonholes were a bugger. Hang in there and if you need a little instant gratification, I say go for it!

  11. Paula says:

    Crafting-ADD? Now you are speaking my language! It’s the curse of the creative. And really a blessing, in the big picture. I’m sure of it. And dishcloths are underrated (as are many quick knits, I think) One can never have too many dishcloths or washcloths. And they make the loveliest hostess gifts. 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

