Yarn Along

IMG_1383[1]
Well, not much progress this week. Hopefully this week I’ll get on to the sleeves. But in the meantime I thought I’d share my buttons. Pretty schnazy, don’t ya think?

Reading was a little more productive this week. I finished Shadows of the Workhouse by Jennifer Worth. It’s more stories from her work as a nurse and midwife in Poplar. And it is incredibly moving – it’s hard to imagine that this went on less than a hundred years ago! What a different world we live in today. Hard to believe that workhouses (yes, exactly like a Dickins novel) were still in existance until 1930. Needless to say there were a couple times I had to put the book down. But excellent social history. Now I’m trying to finish up the other books I’ve had going (while I wait for the last book by Worth from the library.)

Happy Wednesday! Happy Yarn Along!
IMG_1384[1]

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I read her first one and would love to read her others. I was amazed at the history I learned from the first! Who knew? Love that button 🙂

  2. Donna says:

    Adorable! I made the same sweater years ago in almost the identical color. it was a fun knit.

  3. Love your knitting. I too loved read Jennifer Worth’s books too, I agree that it seems unbelievable how much has changed. I knew the author personally, she was my piano teacher for ten years, it was unbelievable to me and my family that she had worked as a midwife before retraining to be a piano teacher!

  4. I’m going to have to put that book in my to read queue. Sounds interesting. I love the sweater. It will be gorgeous when it is finished.

  5. CathieJ says:

    Love those buttons!

  6. Leslie says:

    sweet knit, perfect buttons

I'd love to hear from you!

