Yarn Along

IMG_1771[1]
I’ve gotten lots done this week but not what I intended. My February Lady has been set aside for a little while, not through any fault of her own. A sweet friend’s baby boy was born still last week and I’m too far away to be able to cook for her, or clean, or walk the dog, or anything else other than pray for her and her husband. But I can send a wooly hug so on his birthday I cast on a shawl for her. It just so happened that the next yarn I was going to knit from my stash was a colorway called “watermelon” and I think that is the perfect thing for remembering an August baby. The picture does not do the color justice.
IMG_1769[1]

As for reading, I finished The Book of Helen by Sherry Antonetti. It’s kinda historical fiction following an aged Helen, of Troy fame, after the death of her husband Menelaus. Have you ever read a book and when you get to the last 40 or so pages you put it down because you’re not ready to be finished with the story or the characters? Yeah, this was one of those books for me.

And now to link up with Ginny. Happy Wednesday!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. tinkhickman says:

    What a special gift and such beautiful colours. X

  2. Amy says:

    What a great gift! I love the colors of it and by the looks of it you’ll be done soon!

  3. It is a beautiful color and very sweet of you to cast on for her in her time of need.

  4. lori says:

    that is so very sweet, the best kind of knitting i think.

  5. heathermama says:

    i am so sorry about your friend. ((hug))

  6. Donna says:

    I am so very sorry for your friends loss. Knitting is a great gift in times like this.

  7. woolythymes says:

    My heart breaks for your friend–and her loss. What a thoughtful friend you are.

  8. How heartbreaking. What a lovely thing to do for your friend xx

  9. Watermelon…indeed the perfect color to remember August by. How sad for your friend. 😦

  10. Elizabeth says:

    Lord have mercy! sometimes prayer and a gift is all one can do; glad you are able to do so… ~ Elizabeth {http://eroosje.blogspot.com/}

  11. karen says:

    you are such a sweet friend to knit a special gift. I think she will love it. I will pray for her and her family.

  12. Such a sweet gift – I love all the colour!

    Wishing you a lovely day.
    xoxo

  13. CathieJ says:

    What a great way to send a hug. The colorway is beautiful.

I'd love to hear from you!

