Yarn Along

IMG_0293[1]
I’ve been knitting a couple of rows a night just to keep my sanity. My February Lady is still on hold… Anyone have any suggestions for how best to transport an in-progress sweater? Maybe wrap it in tissue and put it at the top of my stash box? I think it will fit in there…
IMG_0297[1]
Reading is also limited, mostly to rental descriptions and info about the Austin area. We’re frantically packing and set to leave Canada for Texas this weekend. Talk about culture shock! I have very mixed feelings about it and not a little anxiety about this move (I’m hoping to write soon but well, there just is no time.) I suppose it can be summed up as being sad to be going so far away from family and friends and anxious because from here I can only see the bad, not the good people we’ll meet/ things we’ll do/ and whatnot. But I’m really looking forward to settling in somewhere bigger (we’re really hoping to rent a house) and I’m really thankful we’re moving in the fall (when it’s not so hot and I outfitted my kids for the non-winter from the end of season clearance racks!)
IMG_0290[1]
Joining Ginny – Happy Wednesday! Any prayers for peace and a smooth transition would be much appreciated. As would any practical advice on moving to Texas.

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I think you will like your new home, just my instincts. I hope you find your rental and it be a big house. Join the library and go to story time, you will meet loads of mothers there and make friends quickly. That’s how I did it way back when.

  2. I hope the move is effortless. I’m sure things will be just fine, though I can totally understand your doubts. I hear that Texas people are super nice and friendly.

  3. Camilla says:

    That is quite a move- I heard Texas is wonderful though… a new adventure. Beautiful knits!

  4. jarka says:

    wow, good luck with the move! I’m sure you’ll meet tons of new friends 🙂 and don’t get too stressed about the move – always find time to relax and knit 😀

  5. Deb Hickman says:

    Pretty colours, good luck with the move. Deb x

  6. Your knitting is beautiful – I hope you managed to transport it ok and that your move goes smoothly (well, as smoothly as these things can!).

  7. That will most certainly be a culture shock! Good luck though with your move. I have a friend who lives in Austin. If, when you’re settled, you need some ideas on things to see and do (and kid friendly), let me know I can get a list from her.

I'd love to hear from you!

