Yarn Along

IMG_0795[1]Oh dear, there was some drama this week. I got my February Lady all unpacked and she wasn’t in my knitting basket for 2 hours before a clever toddler brought the basket down and pulled out one of the needles! Yikes!  Thankfully the way I had her (the sweater) stored she (the toddler) pulled the needle straight out – no tugging or dropping stitches. I took my time and waited until I had the place to myself last night to put it right again. And knit a couple of rows to be sure it was all set. Note to self: no more trying to go back and forth between lace projects, I nearly goofed up the Epic Road Trip scarf after working on the FLS.

It was so nice to work on my FLS again though.  Maybe just because it’s something different, maybe because she’s been on hold for so long, maybe because I’m on the sleeves and that means I’m almost done.  Whatever the reason I’m glad to be back to it.  Although probably not for long, what with Christmas just around the bend!  Speaking of which, has anyone knit a Child Surprise Jacket?  (A BSJ in a child size?)  I wanted to do one for the Littler Boy for Christmas but I think I under- estimated the yardage I would need when I was ordering.  For some reason I thought more than half the yardage to make a grown Mama sized sweater would be enough but on closer examination of Ravelry it looks like not so much.  Any thoughts on what to make a little boy who thinks he’s big and wears a size 4T with 550 yards of worsted weight, in 2 colors?  Is that too much to ask?  😉

My reading has also been eventful this week but in a good way. I’m reading a Karen Kingsbury novel I picked up last week at the library. It’s the kids’ books that are exciting. Barnum’s Bones by Tracey Fern was much enjoyed. (It’s about Barnum Brown who discovered the T-rex – his “favorite child.”) Big Anthony His Story by Tomie dePaola. Brigid’s Cloak by Bryce Milligan (yes, it’s out of season but our rosary mystery this week is the Nativity so it really does make sense.) I’m looking forward to Calico the Wonder Horse or The Saga of Stewy Stinker by Virginia Lee Burton later in the week. Believe it or not there is a method to the madness in our reading, can you figure it out? 🙂

Happy Wednesday!  Happy Yarn Along!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    You know, i’ve pulled out needles in my knitting by accident, so you don’t need a toddler for knitting drama. Glad you were able to pick up the stitches and carry on with the knitting.

  2. We have toddler drama at our house too- she’s always snatching a needle or spindle and thinks she’ll get away with it. 🙂 I’m glad you were able to put everything back together and move forward!

  3. Donna says:

    Oh dear my heart dropped when I first read that. Glad you got it fixed quickly!

  4. Erin says:

    Whew! So glad to hear that all is well with your FLS. I remember those days well!

I'd love to hear from you!

