Yarn Along

IMG_1237[1]

I finished the not-so-purple cowl for my brother. (He doesn’t read here, does he? And if he does, avert your eyes, dude!) I really enjoyed this one. Nothing like big needles and chunky yarn. And for the first time ever I only had to cast on one time! That never happens. It’s usually more like three cast ons before I get it right. I wanted to get started on the dino hat for the Littler Guy (and maybe his sibs but we’ll take things one hat at a time) but, well, I don’t have all the right needles. 😦 Actually I don’t have any of the right needles but I can go up a needle size (which will help upsize it for a larger than toddler head) and that would mean I only need to pick up one new set of needles. Please tell me I’m not the only one this happens to.

So in the meantime, I’m working on my Epic scarf (I suppose I’ll finish it eventually, it just keeps going!)  And thinking about a cardi for Baby Girl to go with her Christmas dress.  Which would you pick, Tiny Tea Leaves or In Threes?  Hmmm, I might run into the same needles trouble with the Tiny Tea Leaves but I definitely have an abundance of size 8 needles…

In reading, I finished Someday by Karen Kingsbury and am now reading A Good and Perfect Gift by Amy Julia Becker.  And planning Advent reading.  It just occurred to me, like, yesterday that Advent starts next week.  So much to do!  I’ll blame it on the warm temperatures and the leaves that are just beginning to turn and fall but it has really snuck up on me.  Then again, it might just be that Advent sneaks up on me every year.

Happy Wednesday!  Happy Yarn Along!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    I say pick the knit that you have the needles for, unless you want to go to a yarn store and shop then I say pick the project that needs some shopping. I think toddler heads and child heads and not that far off in sizes…. Love the cowl and your brother is going to love it as well 🙂

  2. Do the sweater that you have needles for. You’re already having enough trouble with Littler’s hat. 🙂

  3. Kristen says:

    Nice cowl – love how masculine it looks. I have knit both of the choices you listed, and I love the Tiny Tea Leaves best of all! (In Threes is great, too!)

I'd love to hear from you!

