Yarn Along

IMG_1312[1]
Here we are again. 🙂 I cast on (only twice) In Threes for Baby Girl. Maybe I should have gone with a smaller size but I wanted to be sure she would get some wear out of it. And I have of course already had to do near-epic repair work to my knitting. At first I had my usual reaction, trying to see how I could make it work to just carry on as is. But that really wouldn’t do so an attempt to unknit (I think it was 5 rows) was in order. Of course I managed to mangle that too so it was ye ol’ take out the needles and pray to catch all the live stitches. And somehow I did. I twisted a bunch but hopefully that wont have too terrible an effect.  With any luck it will continue to go well because I’m loving this pattern and I would hate to ruin a good pattern on myself.

Readingwise I’m still reading A Good and Perfect Gift.  I love reading about people.  With the kidlets we’re reading all kinds of things (this week’s letter is H – harvest, hands, honey, hippos, even a book about a haystack!)  But my favorite book lately has been A Gift of Gracias by Julia Alvarez.  It’s the story (legend?) of Our Lady of Altagracia, patroness of the Dominican Republic.
virgen-altagracia
I didn’t know anything about the story when I picked up the book other than that the title involved the letter G and that with Thanksgiving coming gracias was a perfect concept to be reading about.  And it was a beautiful story with lovely illustrations.  I think we’ll eat some oranges and read it again today.  And don’t forget Strega Nona’s Harvest by Tomie dePaola!

Happy Wednesday!  Happy Yarn Along!  Happy Thanksgiving!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, gratitude, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. karen says:

    she is going to look adorable in that sweater 🙂 Happy thanksgiving!

  2. Erin says:

    Beautiful! The In Threes is one of my favorite patterns.

  3. woolythymes says:

    good save on the sweater!!! perfect for the coming holidays!!!! and that’s one of my favorite patterns….a win-win all around!

I'd love to hear from you!

