Yarn Along

I have to admit I made negative knitting progress this week. Despite having the appropriate needles, all the knitting that happened was unknitting what I had done and rewinding my yarn. I did think to save the slip knot, though, so that casting on would be easier (I’m terrible at guesstimating how much I’ll need for my cast on.) Not that I’ve been idle – I did finish the quilt for Bigger’s birthday (I’ll try to get pictures up later) and I’m still working on cross stitch. I’m not sure why that has such a pull on me at the moment but it does.

I finished Mrs. Lincoln’s Rival and was really disappointed. I kept reading (over 400 pages) in hopes that it would get better. Well, the last 50 pages or so showed promise. And the author’s note at the end was really interesting. But the story was pretty dull – tons of unimportant details like election results and the menu of a dinner at the White House (all 17 lines!) But very little in the way of character development or relationships which is frankly why I read novels. Perhaps she was trying not to stray too far from the historical knowledge of Kate Chase or perhaps she was determined not to waste her research. But more than once I found myself wishing for a new Elm Creek book. (I am however fascinated by Kate Chase now, after reading the author’s note, and would love to read more about her – she must have been a heck of a lady, maybe not the nicest but still quite a person.)

On the other hand I started A Daughter’s Love by John Guy. It’s a biography of Thomas More and his daughter Margaret and it is much more story-like than the dry Chiaverini novel. I’m only 2 chapters in but so far it’s really interesting.  My pile of library books has not been shrinking as quickly as I’d hoped – I’ve probably bitten off more than I can chew and I’ll have to renew them all.  That has the feel of defeat at the moment, like I’m procrastinating and wont actually get them all read.  But I’m not giving up yet.

Happy Wednesday!  Happy Yarn Along!
IMG_2743[1]
(In case you’re wondering, I have not stitched the entire winter scene this week – that has been a WIP for at least 7 years. Every now and then it is pulled out and worked on for a bit, then put away again.  The size and color of the cloth make it really tough on the eyes but it is still a beautiful project.)

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, projects, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Tonya says:

    Your stitching is beautiful.

  2. wstyrsky says:

    I started reading Mrs. Lincoln’s Rival and agree that there are so many details! I loved all the Elm Creek Books. At one time I owned them all and then stupidly sold them.

  3. I usually have to renew my library books because it seems like I am reading slower and slower.

  4. karen says:

    you need to cast on with the knitted cast on method, my go to method. No guessing, just start at the slip stitch go in to knit and put that new knit stitch on the left needle. then repeat 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

