{pretty, happy, real}

~ Capturing the context of contentment in everyday life ~

Every Thursday at Like Mother, Like Daughter!

{pretty}
IMG_3694[1]
We used Mother’s Day as an excuse to go to Home Depot and pick out some plants for our porch garden. The WeatherMan was all about the veggies and I picked a couple pots of flowers. Aren’t they lovely? (Our veggies include two kinds of tomatoes, sugar snap peas, bell peppers, basil, and oregano. I can’t wait to see the tomatoes – one is “solar fire” and supposed to be heat resistant and the other is “Cherokee Purple” and as the name suggests supposed to be purple!)

{happy}
IMG_3665[1]
Also on Mother’s Day all three of my children took a nap. Of course then they were up half the night and while they napped the WeatherMan watched NYPD Blue (as opposed to letting me pick in which case we would have watched Call the Midwife because I am at least two weeks behind but I digress) but I read while enjoying tea and mug cake and it was still a nice couple minutes. I also couldn’t convince him to move the Littler Boy into the same bed as the other two for a better picture but this is still pretty darned cute.

{funny}
IMG_3722[1]
You may recall last week’s {funny}. I think this is better. I also think this was the first time she wanted to put her costume on and then actually wore it. She really enjoyed chasing the boys around the apartment and hooting.

{real}
IMG_3726[1]
I debated about whether or not to be this real on here. This was my only Mother’s Day card this year. Yes, it is from the Team at Home Depot. I also got three red roses – from the management company of our apartment complex. No one in my own family even said “Happy Mother’s Day.” Not exactly the stuff of which dreams are made. I’m not really hosting a pity party even though I have been feeling a little sorry for myself. But that’s just not the way the WeatherMan rolls and I’m just not good about being demanding of what I want for recognition. I’m working on it. And that’s real life – ever a work in progress.

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in {phfr}. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to {pretty, happy, real}

  1. Erin says:

    Huge Mother’s Day HUGS to you, Kate. I pretty much boycotted Mother’s Day this year (due to some personal stuff that’s been going on…) but several people said something to me. I don’t think DH would have remembered to get a card from him and the girls had I not stopped him in the store to get the ones for his and my mom, though. I hope your day was blessed anyway! It sure looks like it was to me!

    • *kate says:

      Thanks Erin! It was a good day, just maybe not by the FaceBook/Hallmark standards. It’s one of those things that is what is it and I’m ok with that. Most of the time anyway.

  2. Joanne says:

    We could compare notes but not on a public forum. Sometime when you’re home……

    • *kate says:

      Definitely when home πŸ™‚ I’ve already promised the boys they’ll get to meet that mysterious lady with our name who is responsible for half our library of books!

  3. karen says:

    Love the flowers for your patio along with the veggies πŸ™‚ If you want M’s day cards you have to bring it to their attention. My husband forgets everything. Everything. I know though that he cares and that’s what is most important.

  4. I usually remind my husband to have the boys write some cards for Mother’s Day and my birthday! I feel your pain πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear from you!

