Yarn Along

I’ve made a little progress on my summer shawl. This is my first attempt at experience with a charted pattern so it’s a bit of a learning curve. But I think I get the concept now and so far I love the pattern. (Which is good because I have a feeling we’ll be seeing it for quite a while.)

As for reading, both C.S. Lewis and Harry Potter are in boxes. Under kids’ beds. Unfortunately the only time I have to look through those boxes is when kids are sleeping. In those beds. So maybe I’ll be able to get in there this week. In the meantime, I read Somewhere in France by Jennifer Robson and The Penderwicks of Gardam Street by Jeanne Birdsall. Both were very good. Somewhere in France is about a young English lady (as in titled lady) during the Great War. Think along the lines of Lady Sybil’s plot line. Really interesting. And of course the Penderwicks are lovely and I’m a little sad they weren’t around when I was their target audience.

IMG_4954[1]
Happy Wednesday! Happy Yarn Along!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. corrabelle says:

    I share the same inexperience with charts. I’ve followed a few, but It always takes me a while to get into the groove.
    Gorgeous Shawl though!!

  2. karen says:

    Love the lace project, and yay for chart knitting- makes like so much easier!!

  3. Erin says:

    That’s a great purple you’ve chosen. Good luck with the charts. I can do them, but often don’t.

  4. Becky says:

    My family loved the whole Penderwicks series. Great start on your shawl. The color is beautiful!

  5. Sarah says:

    Sigh. Just seeing other people enjoy the Penderwicks makes me feel happy and like we are all friends through friends somehow. Silly, yes, but maybe not so silly.
    Lovely shawl!!

I'd love to hear from you!

