Yarn Along

Tuesday I posted the finished cardi I was working on last time I posted a Yarn Along. I haven’t really done much knitting since then. Then being March, not Tuesday. But I did get a start, months ago, on this lovely shawl. Then things got crazy. Then I got to the pattern chart and got intimidated. I have hopes plans of getting my big comfy chair cleared out again. And maybe moved into the family room where it is warmer and we tend to hang out more. And being big and brave and starting it up again. And it wont be as bad as I think it will be and I will wonder what kept me so long from working on it.
The pattern is Winter Leaves Shawl. (Although I have obviously not gotten to the “leaves” yet.)

Reading is much easier when life is busy and distracting. I’ve certainly read a lot lately. 52 books in 2015 and 2 already this year. Currently I’m reading The Last Runaway by Tracy Chevalier. It has nice short chapters, perfect for the little snatches of reading I can get. And the story has really grabbed me – a young Quaker woman who leaves England to settle in Ohio in 1850 and challenges and hardships she faces.

IMG_0113[1]

Linking up with Ginny at Small Things.

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Uncategorized, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. Beth says:

    Lovely shawl! I looked at it on Rav and the leaves are so pretty! I’ll have to be on the lookout for that book – it sounds very interesting!

  2. Jayne M says:

    Gorgeous colour yarn – it will look lovely. I will look out for that book, sounds like one I would like.

  3. pretty knitting and that looks like a nice book to read!

  4. I’ve added the shawl – thanks for including the link – but think I’ll need some help reading a chart as I haven’t for knitting before, though have for crochet.

    That book is on my wishlist, I must get it sometime as I enjoy Chevalier’s writing a lot.

  5. zauberflink says:

    Such a good idea to gather the energy to finish this very pretty shawl! Good luck with it!

  6. Jeanette says:

    I am intimidated by charts and knitting! wishing you luck! The shawl is lovely and the book sounds nice. I cannot knit and read at the same time and havent been able to carve out reading time out of the busy day yet but I have discovered podcasts are a great way to multi task! ha have a great week

  7. naturalearthfarm says:

    Ahh. that seems like a book I might like. Thank you for sharing.

  8. Joanne says:

    I’ve missed your yarn along updates. Happy to see you back.

  9. You can do it! drag out the knitting and go for it! very likely it is easier in reality than in your head.

  10. karen sue says:

    i went through that author a few years ago and enjoyed the writing, but now I’ll have to figure out where I left off and start up again. Lovely yarn. I’ve got too many started projects now. Just need to focus a bit. I like your idea of moving your special chair. I used to have one…a chair and a half. Lots of room for me and a kid, in our younger years. And my ‘nest’ of project basket was right beside it. Now, I move from spot to spot and it’s just not the same. Be brave. I was brave a while ago and frogged out a project I had been working on for 4 balls of yarn… sometimes being brave is plowing through, sometimes it’s admitting that you just don’t like it enough to keep going and giving yourself permission to stop… love your yarn, though… Happy day

  11. nanacathy2 says:

    I loved that book too!

  12. Lynda says:

    I really enjoyed that book too! xx

I'd love to hear from you!

