Yarn Along

Oy. Computer problems kept me from blogging last week. Knitting problems are keeping me from finishing the cabled headband I’m working on. I’m fighting a loosing battle over here. I’ve knit and unknit about 3 times so far and still haven’t been able to work out the final 3 rows of ribbing on the headband. Talk about frustrating. Last night I just gave up (for the night) mid row and I’m hoping to get back to it today. But I will say I’ve gotten better at “reading” my knitting and have made some improvements. Just haven’t been able to figure out how to make the whole thing work. Good heavens, it’s only 3 rows of 32 stitches across. It’s driving me nuts!

I did finish some reading this week though. The Telling by Beverly Lewis was rather predictable but a nice story all the same. I’m trying to finish up Spark Joy (it’s due back to the library soon.) For the most part I’m enjoying it and getting some good ideas and inspiration. But I have to say, Marie Kondo lives in a totally different world than I do. She advises getting rid of basically all your books (HA! as if that’s gonna happen!) and arranging your undies from lightest to darkest, so that when you open the drawer it’s like looking at a box of chocolates! Umm, sorry if this is TMI but my undies are totally utilitarian and I don’t think could ever resemble a box of chocolates. Not that I’m not thankful for their usefulness and service but come on. I’m just getting to the section on the kitchen so hopefully there will be some good ideas there. (Maybe a suggestion to have some actual chocolates on hand, now that’s something I could get totally down with.)

IMG_0008[1]

Happy Wednesday! Happy Yarn Along!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. fibrefallout says:

    oh no……here is to hoping this week gets better both for knitting and computer!!!!

  2. Lisa Uotinen says:

    So funny- I read Marie Kondo’s book too and I bet lots of women have laughed along as she suggests things like sorting underwear according to color! 🙂

  3. arabianknits says:

    I’m reading Marie Kondo’s book, too, and I am a homeschooling mother of eight living in a tiny home, so I just take what is useful and ignore the rest. I do like her suggestion to get rid of first, then sort, but I give it away rather than throw it away if it’s still useful. I also really appreciated her exercise to determine the why behind the decluttering.

    As another bit of TMI, I have finally gotten pretty pnaties (misspelled deliberately) and matching bras, because I wanted to wear pretty things. It makes me feel better and more confident, actually. So, I do arrange them in a nice way.

  4. arabianknits says:

    And I have already, before I ever read her book or heard of her, organized my closet by type of clothing and then in neutrals through the rainbow.

  5. I hope your computer problems are all over. I hate when that happens. and it happens a lot to me these days!! Love the little bit of knitting that you are sharing with us.

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Throw away your books? Nope, don’t understand! This woman sounds dangerous to me. Box of chocolates pants? It does sound good…but I have other things to do with my time…like knit! Good luck!

I'd love to hear from you!

