Sugar free

During my blogging hiatus one of the things going on was dealing with some health issues, of which there are aspects that are on going. To address some of this I have been working to limit my sugar consumption. You might have picked up from reading here that I am a major sugar junkie and have in fact subsisted on a sugar based diet from time to time. (Not that I’m proud of that but sometimes that’s the way things fall out.)

Within a few days of cutting back my sugar I couldn’t believe that I was already feeling better. That Sunday (I started on a Tuesday) I could kneel in church without pain for the first time since I can’t remember when. Now (several months in) I can feel the effects of sugar on me – lower back pain, elbow and shoulder discomfort and stiffness. It’s really kinda wild that such a small change (limiting sugar) can so quickly have so much power in my systems.

For example, take this past week. Start out a puking kid (sadly this is a true story) and a little emotional eating. Add in a sugar fueled holiday. Next thing you know it’s Monday lunch time and you can’t hold up your bowl of fruit and yogurt because your elbow hurts too much. Now we’ve made it to Thursday and things are improving. It might be even better if I could keep my little hand out of the jelly beans. 😉

Hopefully I’ll be able to share some of my experimental recipes here in the not to distant future. I’ve had some success with banana based muffins and a not terrible attempt at banana sweetened brownies. But I’ll admit that I will probably still, at least from time to time, be enjoying a normal sugary brownie. Because I don’t know about you but sometimes you just need a proper brownie.

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in treats. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sugar free

  1. Beth says:

    I get you! Sometimes only a brownie will do! I’m working to reduce sugar also – I never knew how many things contain sugar! Lots of label reading going on.

  2. Zena says:

    I’m traveling down that path too. I have been through the wringer these last two weeks in hospital. I have to lower my estrogen levels to help with my new diagnosis, Endometriosis and I’m making another lifestyle change to help with that. So for a while I’m doing the no sugar no meat diet. I have lost so much weight and starting to feel better but the sugar is the hardest for me because I love sweets in all it’s forms healthy sugar bad sugar. Look forward to some tips.

I'd love to hear from you!

