Yarn Along

With four weeks in Advent if I can finish at least one piece each week I’ll be done before Christmas… I’m off to a slow start on that piece for the first week but it’s only Wednesday. I’ve also been distracted by our family Advent project – a quilt. Maybe a little insane to be taking that on but the kids are so excited! (My back, on the other hand, which is killing me from leaning over to cut fabric is not so happy. But don’t worry, I’ll be adjusting my cutting set up today after 2 days of resting my back.)

My book pile is, umm, ridiculous. Advent reading, Christmas stories, holds that have some through at the library, you name it it seems to be in there. Currently going is Christmas Bells by Jennifer Chiaverini. The story goes back and forth between modern and historical, like some of her earlier Elm Creek novels. It’s a better balance of the historical detail and fascinating characters than some of her more recent historical fiction. I’m really enjoying it.

img_21351

Happy Wednesday! Happy Yarn Along!

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in books, knitting, Yarn Along. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Yarn Along

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    I think we all have smoke coming out our needles now! Good luck with your projects.

  2. itsallaboutpurple says:

    “smoke coming out of our needles” such a accurate way of saying things. i hope you are able to keep up as i am sure it will bring you much joy!!!

  3. how exciting to be making a quilt! love the pink yarn 🙂

  4. murdenkim says:

    I also started a quilt today. Just a lap quilt for my dad who has been poorly and in hospital. He complains of the cold. My family are skeptical but I purchased all the fabric from scratch (rather than using stash) and I am determined to finish. Visiting you via Yarn Along.

  5. Sarah says:

    I love Jennifer Chiaverini’s books and it’s been a while since I’ve read one of hers. Thanks for the reminder, I’ll have to see what’s available. I’m sure she could write a terrific Christmas story!

  6. Rebecca says:

    I can’t wait to see your Advent quilt, what a fantastic idea! I made a felt banner when my kiddos were little for Advent, nothing nearly as involved as a quilt. Do post your progress!

I'd love to hear from you!

