For days like that

Because every now and then you have one of those days.

The ones where they’re testing the fire alarms. In the middle of the baby’s nap.

The ones where the downstairs neighbor comes up to tell you she’s working from home today and that your preschooler’s tantrum over the tv being turned off (after a measly 2 episodes of the Wild Kratts) is messing up her teleconference.

The ones where you think back on last night’s dinner and how the boys flung food rather than eat it and you couldn’t keep the baby from crawling across the table.  Multiple times.

The days where you are quite sure that your family is a strong candidate for Super Nanny.

The days where you are on your own all day and through bedtime too.

The days when it’s all of the above.

Take a deep breath.  Have a Dr Pepper.  Knit a few rows.  Sew a couple seams.  Watch this short video and smile.  (Watch it anyway, you’ll thank me.)

And remember, tomorrow is another day.

Edited to add that I would like to point out that there are equally adorable moments that somehow seem to be dwarfed by the less that cute.  Like the first time putting the baby for her nap and she kept laying her head on my shoulder, then lefting her face to me to kiss her sweet nose, laying her head back down, and starting over.  Totally the cutest thing ever and I would do well to hold onto that rather than all the rest.  What can I say, I am a work in progress.

About *kate

A mama looking for a little piece of peace in her day.
This entry was posted in snippets. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to For days like that

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Treasure each and every moment. Before you know it they will have flown the nest and you would do anything for one more day like this. P.s tell the neighbour to get an office!

  2. karen says:

    I don’t think I like your downstairs neighbor….pretty bold. I bet today will be much much much better 🙂

  3. My youngest sis’ downstairs neighbor is just as bad. I feel for you, Kate. Like you said, keep your chin up and wait for a new day.

I'd love to hear from you!

